Home >> News >> Founders week 2014

Founders week 2014

Boys’ Town celebrated its 74th anniversary with a series of events from November 16 -22, 2014, the celebration was done to the theme of  ” Building with vision on a strong foundation.

The week began with a church service on Sunday November 16 at the Hugh Sherlock Hall with Pastor Travis Stewart from Joy Town giving the message, the service was well attended with old boys, students, members of the community, members of the CDC and representatives of the sports teams giving their support.

Church service to launch week of activities   ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

Our annual awards ceremony and dinner was held on Tuesday, this event was the showpiece of the week as it gave the opportunity for members from all the different areas of Boys’ Town to meet and honor the persons who have represented us with distinction over the last 12 months. Awards were given in the following categories;

Basic School

  • Top Academic Performer – Jordean English
  • Most Improved Student – Ricardo Jackson
  • Gloria Brebner Scholarship – Kia Sterrad

All-Age School

  • Top GNAT Student – Monique Chambers
  • Top GSAT Student – Daniska Styles
  • Hugh Sherlock Scholarship

Youth Development Programme

  • Top Academic Performer – Shante Trevelon


  • Top Food Prep Trainee –
  • Top Food and Beverage Trainee –
  • Top Housekeeping Trainee –
  • Top Marketing & Promotion Trainee –


  • Most Wickets – Kemar Brown
  • Most Runs – Oneil Davy
  • Most Improved – Jameel Bryan


  • Most Improved Boxer
  • Boxer of the Year – Shimon Gayle


U15 Team

  • Leading Goal Scorer –           Randeem Pitter
  • Most Valuable Player –           Shavon Wilson

U17 Team

  • Leading Goal Scorer –           Shamar Nicholson
  • Most Valuable Player –           Tevin Shaw

U13 Team

  • Leading Goal Scorer –          Jaheim Jackson
  • Most Valuable Player –           Prince Daniel-Smith
  • U -20 Most Valuable Player – Tevin Shaw
  • U -20 Leading Goalscorer – Shamar Nicholson


Senior Team

  • Leading Goalscorer –Micheal Campbell
  • Most Valuable Player – Daemion Benjamin

Female Team

  • Leading Goalscorer – Taunashae Hamilton
  • Most Valuable Player

Youth Club

  • Personality of the Year –Nakeema Lewis

Religious Club

  • Personality of the Year –Romario Hall

Golden Age Club

  • Personality of the Year –


Volunteer of the Year –Franklyn Cousins


Student of the Year Nominees

  • Sonique Hall – Volunteer
  • Nickean Hardware–Youth Club
  • Dwight Fletcher– Volunteer


Sports Personality of the Year Nominees

  • Kemar Brown– Cricketer
  • Kirk Porter – Footballer
  • Shimon Gayle –Boxer

From the shortlist of nominees the nominations committee determined the student of the year to be Sonique Hall and the sports personality of the year Kirk Porter.

The event was well attended with guest speaker Dr. Henley Morgan imploring the audience to build on the foundation left by Father Hugh Sherlock and the other persons who have contributed to the development of Boys Town over the past 74 years.

Guests at award ceremony #5  Jaheim Jackson Kia Sterrard Gloria Brebner Award Rikardo Jackson Most improved basic school Jordean English, Top academic performer Basic School


Top GNAT Monique Chambers Shante Trelevon YDP student of the year   Romario Hall receiving his award Nakeema lewis Youth club personality of the year Shimon Gayle Boxer of the year


Albert Rose, Most runs U-13 MVP Prince Daniel Smith  Chavany Willis U-17 MVP U-20 MVP Tevin Shaw Shamar Nicholson leading goal scorer


Andre Dawson senior team leading goalscorer Kirk Porter sports man of the year Taunashae Hamilton leading goal scorer Chevelle Thompson MVP for female team  Frank receiving his award


Sonique Hall - response from awardees Sports person of the year Kirk Porter Chairman Dr. Davidson and Mr. Spence

The final event for the week was the sports day held on Saturday, November 22, a T20 game featuring the KOOL FM cricket team vs a Boys Town invitational team and an U-13 Football tournament. The cricket match was very entertaining with the Boys Town team coming out on top after batting first and scoring 196-4 from 20 overs, they then restricted the KOOL FM team to 168 all out. Top scorers for Boys Town were Oneil Davey 78 and Asdel Whitely 68 n.o, with Captain Kemar Brown taking 5-48 in the KOOL FM innings. The football tournament saw 6 teams participating, these teams were named after past footballers Carl Brown, Lennie Hyde, Thomas Mclean, Donavon Downer, Andrew Price and Rohan Palmer. After the preliminary rounds team Carl Brown, Rohan Palmer, Andrew Price and Lennie Hyde advanced to the semi finals, Carl Brown prevailed over Rohan Palmer 3-2 on penalties and Lennie Hyde defeated Andrew Price 2-0. The final was an exciting affair with Team Carl Brown eventually overcoming Team Lennie Hyde 2-1, the MVP for the tournament was Shaqueil Bradford of Team Carl Brown, whilst Antwone Ewers of Team Lennie Hyde was the leading goal scorer.

Team Carl Brown #1 Team Andrew Price #1 Team Rohan Palmer #1


Team Downer Team Lennie Hyde #1 Captain of Carl Brown accepting the winning trophy


Captain of Lennie Hyde accepts the runner up trophy M V P Shaqueem Bradford Leading goal scorer Antwone Ewers

Leave a Reply